Library Home: The Arts: Year 7 Art

Pop Art web sites

Pop art - Modern Museum of Art
Gives brief history of Pop art movement. provides links to artists such as Andy Warhol and Roy Lichenstein
Pop Art
About the Pop Art movement. Links to information of works of key artists such as Andy Warhol, Roy Lichenstein and more.
Pop Art at Guggenheim Museum
Introduction to Pop Art and the Online collection of works at the Guggenheim Museum. Provides information on specific art works and the artist.
Howard Arkley
Information about Howard Arkley and his works.
Howard Arkley at NGV
Information about Howard Arkley and his work. includes an interactive activity.

Pop Art and Howard Arkley

Encyclopedia of printmaking techniques by Judy Martin
Call Number: 760.03 MAR
Publication Date: 2001
Visual directory of printmking techniques. Includes projects to make and a gallery of finished prints aimed to inspire.
Practical printmaking
Call Number: 760.2 PRA
Describes various types of printing including Lithography, Etching and engraving, Relief printing, Screen printing,

Pop art by Richard Spilsbury
Call Number: 709.04071 SPI
Publication Date: 2009
Looks at how Pop art developed and who were the most famous pop artists. Explains the techniques and materials used
Pop art by Klaus Honnef
Call Number: 709.04071 HON
Publication Date: 2004
Looks at the development of Pop Art.
Pop artists and examples of their work.
Pop art by Marco Livingstone (editor)
Call Number: 709.04071 POP
Introduces the Pop art movement. Then looks at how it has developed in America, UK and Europe.
Includes a catalogue of artists work in an exhibition organised by the Royal Academy of Arts, London.
Pop art: a new generation of style by Richard Leslie
Call Number: 709.04071 LES
Explores the history and evolution of the Pop art movement. Presents work of artists from both US and Europe.

Ceramics by Steve Mattison
Call Number: 738.1 MAT
Describes various techniques for creating items. From choosing your clay and preparing the clay, to handbuilding, use of molds, throwing on the wheel, ways of decoration and use of glazes, types of kilns and firing.
World ceramics: an illustrated history by Robert J. Charleston (editor)
Call Number: 738 CHA
Has chapters on - the Ancient world, the Far East, Lands of Islam, Europe - lead glaze and salt glazed stoneware, Europe - tin glazed tradition, European porcelain, Staffordshire and the rise of Industrialism, the Modern world, the Primitive world.
The Ceramic design book by Chris Rich (editor)
Call Number: 738.09 CER
Introduction on contemporary ceramics by Val M. Cushing
Provides a gallery of works created using a range of techniques including potter's wheel, handbuilt ceramics, mold made work, combined techniques and materials.