Library Home: History: Ancient Greece

Web Links

Sites with Information on Many Topics

Ancient Greece from HistoryLink101
daily life, government, culture, education, the people, warfare and much more.
Ancient Greece for kids - from DK
Interactive pictures & information on all sorts of things.
History for Kids
The Ancient Greeks lived around 3,500 years ago their legacy shapes the world we live in today.
Ancient Greece - Ducksters
daily life, art, Olympic Games, government, war, gods & goddesses, myths & legends, famous people and much more ...
The Ancient Greek World
A virtual gallery at the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology - daily life, land & times, religions & death, economy and more.
Ancient Greece for kids - Mr Donn
wide range of topics including daily life, government, warriors, houses, clothing, eduction, etc.
Ancient Greeks - Fact Sheets
The Fitzwilliam Museum - fact sheets on topics including clothing, athletics, education, warfare, and women.
Every day life in Ancient Greece
Uses primary source material from Xenophon to describe a day in the life of an ancient Greek.
Ancient Greece - BBC primary history
Information, games, quizzes, photographs, links to other websites of interest and much more on this BBC website.
Ancient Greece @ the British Museum
Looks at aspects of Ancient Greece. In particular, The Acropolis, Athens, Daily life, Festivals and games, Gods and goddesses, Knowledge and learning, Sparta, Time and War.
Facts about ancient Greece
theatre, sport, Athens, Sparta, food, society, schools, houses, famous Greeks, clothes and much more.
AncientGreece.com
Art & architecture, History, Olympics Wars, Geography, Mythology, People, culture & society ... lots of information.
Objects @ the British Museum - Greek archaic period
Bowls, plates, perfume bottles, vases and other objects from ancient Greece.
Ancient History Encycopedia
Articles from "the world's most-read history encyclopedia".
Greece : secrets of the past
From the Canadian Museum of History - lots of information about ancient Greece.
Ancient Greece - Mrs Tavares class
A collection of Powerpoint presentation on a variety of ancient Greece topics including agriculture, pottery, architecture, home life & theatre.
Ancient Greece - stories, quizzes and more
A collection of information about ancient Greece including architecture, mythology, Gods, daily life, etc.
Quatr.us - Huge range of articles on all sorts of ancient Greece topics
IGNORE the Google ad links at the top ... scroll down through the huge list of articles and explore.
Ancient Greeks: Everyday Life, Beliefs and Myths
Free learning resources from arts,
cultural and heritage organisations.
Facts & details about ancient Greece & Greeks
compiled by Jeff Hays - a huge number of articles just waiting for you!
Ancient Greece - videos, quizzes and more
from the Khan Academy

Ancient Greece from National Geographic

Videos, maps and articles about various aspects of life in ancient Greece.

Ancient Greece
Archaeological sites, museums & art, history & culture, maps, architecture.

Religion

Greek religion - Encyclopaedia Britannica
Greek religion, religious beliefs and practices of the ancient Hellenes.
Ancient Greek religion
Greek Religion fast facts and introduction
Greek religious beliefs
Exploration of some of the main beliefs of ancient Greek religion.

The Arts

Ancient Greek theatre
A brief history of Ancient Greek Theatre, its origins and its position to the ancient Greek world.
Greek pottery
An article from the Ancient History Encyclopaedia.
Ancient Greek Art
from the Encyclopedia of Art - all about Greek pottery, sculpture, architecture & painting.
Ancient Greek art - Khan Academy
explore ancient Greek art through the ages, pottery, sculpture & architecture.

Ancient Olympic Games

The Ancient Olympics : a Special Exhibit
In this exhibit, you can compare ancient and modern Olympic sports, tour the site of Olympia as it looks today, learn about the context of the Games and the Olympic spirit, or read about the Olympic athletes who were famous in ancient times.
Real Story of the ancient Olympic Games
From Penn Museum ... The ancient Olympic Games were primarily a part of a religious festival in honour of Zeus, the father of the Greek gods and goddesses.
Ancient Olympic Games
According to historical records, the first ancient Olympic Games can be traced back to 776 BC.
Ancient Olympic Games
Timeline with lots of information and images and some links to additional information.
Ancient Olympics
From the University of Leuven ... lots of information about the ancient Olympics.

Myths & Legends / Gods & Goddesses

Greek Mythology, Gods & Goddesses
This site is devoted to the heroes, gods and monsters of Greek mythology.
Greek Gods and Goddesses
This website is an easy-to-follow overview of the many Greek gods and goddesses of Greek mythology.

War / Warriors

Ancient Greek warriors
from ancientmilitary.com Also see the pages on Spartan military & Spartan weapons
The Catapult And Other War Machines Of Ancient Greece
Ancient Greek engineers developed war machines such as the catapult, which evolved from the crossbow and were the forerunners of modern artillery.
The Five Most Important Battles Of Ancient Greece
Here are five of the ancient Greek battles that forever altered the course of human culture and progress:
Ancient Greek War from The Finer Times
the major Ancient Greek wars and the impact they had on the advance of civilisation and war as we know it.

Food in ancient Greece

Food in ancient Greece
What we know about food in Ancient Greece comes from their literature ...
Diets of Ancient Greeks and Olympic Athletes
The oldest known Greek cook book "Art of Cookery" by Mithaecus from the fifth century B.C. provides insight into the diets of Ancient Greeks.

The Minoans - a HistoryWiz Exhibit

Exhibit showcasing the Minoans: art, architecture, engineering, daily life, food, clothing and many other aspects of this amazing civilisation.

The Mycenaens - a HistoryWiz Exhibit

Exhibit showcasing the Mycenaens: art, architecture, engineering, Homer, Troy and many other aspects of this amazing civilisation.

Ancient Greece Museums

Ancient Greece - Pictures, Maps & Other Images - Use These Websites

WikiMedia Commons - find all sorts of ancient Greece images - free for you to use

Pixabay - find a selection of ancient Greece images - free for you to use

(Ignore the top row as these are adverts for images for which you're meant to pay)

More than 99,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum, including over 200 images of items and artefacts from ancient Greece that are held in the Museum's collections.

Creative Commons photos for school. click on the 'View on Flickr' link to check the year the photo was created. Click the 'Download' link to save the image - with bibliographic information - to your computer.

Google Image search - using the advanced search feature, find images that have a 'Free to Use' licence

Every Stock Photo - search Public Domain & Creative Commons licenced images from across the web

Odyssey Online's Greece

An interactive experience exploring objects and artefacts from ancient Greece

Ancient Greece in 18 minutes

Ancient Greece in 18 minutes... an 18 minute, 2017 video from Arzamas, narrated by Brian Cox.

Acropolis, Athens, Greece Panorama

Athens, Greece Panorama

Non-fiction books in the SHGC Library

Listed below are just some of the non-fiction books about Ancient Greece that are in the SHGC Library collection. Check the Library catalogue for other relevant titles.

Ancient Greece by Pamela Bradley
Call Number: 938 BRA
Publication Date: 2000
Covers the period from the Mycenaean Age which began in 1600BC to 404BC when Athens was occupied by Sparta.
Ancient Greece by Peter Chrisp
Call Number: 938 CHR
Publication Date: 2006
From the heroic adventures of Heracles to the astonishing achievements of Alexander the Great, experience the incredible world of Ancient Greece.
30 second Ancient Greece by Matthew Nicholls
Call Number: 938 THI
ISBN: 9781782403883
Publication Date: 2016
The 50 most important achievements of a timeless civilization, each explained in half a minute.
Legacies from Ancient Greece by Anita Ganeri
Call Number: 938 GAN
Publication Date: 2003
Looks at Greek social life and customs, Greek civilisation 500-404BC
Ancient Greece by Andrew Langley
Call Number: 938 LAN
Publication Date: 2005
Exploration of Ancient Greece through its art: paintings, sculpture, ornaments ...
Ancient Greek temple by John Malam & Mark Bergin
Call Number: 938 MAL
Publication Date: 2001
The inside story of the buildings of the temples of Ancient Greece.
Builders, traders & craftsment by Jane Shuter
Call Number: 938 SHU
Publication Date: 1999
How much did a slave cost? Where did the navy keep their ships? What were 'wall piercers'? Take a trip in to the past to discover the world of the Ancient Greeks. Also in the series: Cities & citizens, Discoveries, inventions & ideas, Farmers & fighters.
City States by Anne Wright
Call Number: 938 WRI
Publication Date: 2007
Government - Trade and commerce - Pastimes and ceremonies - Childhood and education - Women and domestic life - Slavery.
Alexander the Great : legend of a warrior king by Peter Chrisp
Call Number: 938.07 CHR
Publication Date: 2000
Follow the incredible story of Alexander the Great's conquest of the ancient world.

Discovering Ancient Greece - from Vimeo

Discovering Ancient Greece... a 34 minute, 1996 documentary from Chariot Productions, written by Joseph Sitko, uploaded by Mr Porretta on Vimeo.

Ancient Greek Vase Production

Ancient Greek vase production... a 4 minute, 2013 video from The Art Institute of Chicago illustrating the techniques used in the making and decorating a black-figure amphora (storage jar).

The Parthenon Marbles

Famous Ancient Greeks

Biographies of famous ancient Greeks including Homer, Socrates, Pericles, Plato, Aristotle, Sappho, Euripides and Aesop.

-----------------------

Rebel Women Embroidery

Brief biographies of amazing ancient Greek women.

-----------------------

Aspasia of Athens

Information from the HistoryWiz site.

-----------------------

Famous Greeks

List of famous Greeks with their biographies that include trivia, interesting facts, timeline and life history.

-----------------------

Biography.com

Biographies of ancient (and more modern) Greeks.

------------------

Ten noble & notorious women of ancient Greece

-----------------------------

Ancient History from the History Channel

Browse this page to find information on the Olympic Games, sports people, the Acropolis, Alexander, Greek mythology, the Trojan War, Spartans and more.

PowerPoints on Ancient Greece

Ancient Greek pottery by Kevin J. Benoy
Powerpoint created by Kevin J. Benoy

Articles from the Smithsonian Magazine

Exploring the Titanic of the Ancient World
History’s most impressive hoard of ancient Greek artifacts includes numerous amphoras, terra-cotta lamps, glass vessels, coins, jewelry and statues ... all in a sunken vessel.
Unlocking Mysteries of the Parthenon
Restoration of the 2,500-year-old temple is yielding new insights into the engineering feats of the golden age's master builders.

Greek myths and legends in SHGC Library

The orchard book of Greek myths by Geraldine McCaughrean; illustrated by Emma Chichester Clark
Call Number: 292.13 MCC
Publication Date: 2013
16 Greek myths
Greek myths by Rob Shone
Call Number: GB 398.20938 SHO
Publication Date: 2006
Greek myths presented in graphic format
The Ilyiad and the Odyssey by retold and illustrated by Marcia Williams
Call Number: GB 883.01 HOM
Publication Date: 2006
Graphic novel format to retell these Greek myths

Fiction in the SHGC Library

Oracle by Jackie French
Call Number: F FRE
Nikko's sister is both cursed and blessed - if she speaks at all, she must tell the truth. Can one young girl change history?
Hopscotch : Medusa stone by Ian Trevaskis
Call Number: F TRE
When Hannah and Jake discover an ancient scroll in Kostas the Giant's boathouse, they are intrigued. A simple game of hopscotch catapults them into a strange world. Trapped in mythological Ancient Greece, Hannah must find three objects ... and Jake.
Pandora's box by Nick Saunders
Call Number: GB 398.20938 SAU
Graphic novel. In ancient Greece, the king of the gods plots to wipe out humankind. He creates Pandora to carry out his horrible plan. Will he succeed? Or will Pandora save the human race?
Medusa by Nick Saunders
Call Number: GB 398.20938 SAU
In ancient Greece, a young man is sent to kill the most hideous creature on Earth. No-one has been able to get close to this monster, Medusa. Can an ordinary man beat her? Or will he be killed?